Immigration Updates – 1st of April

Contributor(s): Daniel King
Table of Contents
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
    Scroll to Top

    General Updates

    United Kingdom

    A new statement of changes to the immigration rules codifies the already launched Ukraine Family Scheme and Homes for Ukraine Scheme and creates a new Ukraine Extension Scheme for those already in the UK on a regular visa that may be expiring.

    The new rules clarify that it is possible for someone already in the UK to apply for the Ukraine Family Scheme if they hold current immigration permission, or permission that expired before 1 January 2022.

    The Ukraine Extension Scheme, which doesn’t open until 3 May 2022, is for Ukrainian citizens who were in the UK before the start of the war, on a student, seasonal or skilled worker visa, and offers access to work, study and benefits for three years.

    The applicant must have had permission to enter or stay in the UK on 18 March 2022, unless:

    • they were in the UK with permission to enter or stay immediately before 1 January 2022, but that permission has since expired; or
    • they are a child born in the UK after 18 March 2022.


    • This scheme is not open to those who are overstayers since before 1 January 2022.
    • Ukrainians under the Extension Scheme cannot apply to bring their family from Ukraine (this is only possible under the Family Scheme, for those holding British citizenship; indefinite leave to remain; refugee status; humanitarian protection status; EU settled status; EU pre-settled status).
    • The Extension Scheme does not lead to settlement.

    COVID-19 Updates


    • Effective 29 March 2022:
      • Unvaccinated or not previously infected travellers arriving from non-EU/Schengen countries are no longer required to test within 24 hours after arrival.
      • This means there are no longer any COVID-19 restrictions for entry to Denmark.


    • Effective 31 March 2022, France has again updated its green countries list to include:
      • Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Bonaire, Bosnia and Herzegovina, British Virgin Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Faroe Islands, Gambia, Greenland, Grenada, Guatemala, Jordan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Papua New Guinea, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Solomon Islands, St. Eustatius and Saba, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands.
    • Travellers arriving from green countries can enter quarantine-free for any reason.
      • Vaccinated travellers must present proof of vaccination.
      • Unvaccinated travellers must present a certificate of recovery dated more than 11 days and less than 6 months before departure OR a negative result of a COVID test or carried out up to 72 hours (PCR) or 48 hours (antigen) before departure.
      • Green countries include countries in the European space (EU, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican); Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bonaire, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, DR Congo, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greenland, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Eustatius and Saba, Sudan, Taiwan, Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay,US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


    • Effective 1 April 2022, the entry ban for travel to Sweden from non-EU/EEA countries is lifted.
      • This also means that vaccination and test certificates will then no longer be required when entering Sweden.
    Table of Contents
      Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
      Scroll to Top
      Would you like to

      Subscribe to our newsletter

      and get notified about new articles?

      Related Posts

      Scroll to Top