Immigration Updates – 20th of May

Contributor(s): Daniel King
Table of Contents
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
    Scroll to Top

    General Updates


    The government’s new website for work permit applications opened on 16 May 2022. Work permit applicants must now upload all required documents before submitting the online application. Delays are expected due to technical issues with the new system.

    United Kingdom

    Effective 1 June 2022, nationals of Saudi Arabia and Bahrain can apply to travel to the UK (for tourism, business, study or medical treatment) for up to 6 months with an electronic visa waiver (EVW). An EVW cannot be used for work.

    • Citizens of Kuwait, Oman, Qatar and United Arab Emirates are already able to apply for an EVW.
    • An EVW allows the holder to travel to the UK without obtaining a visa provided they complete an online waiver for each visit. A small fee will be applied, and it is quicker than applying for a visa as there is no need to provide biometric information (photo and fingerprints), attend a visa application centre or hand in your passport in advance of travel.
    • The EVW is for a single entry, so a new one is required on every visit to the UK, and a separate application must be made for each person travelling, including children.
    • Applications must be made through this website at least 48 hours before travel.

    COVID-19 Updates


    • Effective 16 May 2022, the 3-G rule is lifted for arrivals from all countries.
      • From this date, travellers to Austria do not need to show proof of full vaccination, past infection or a negative PCR test.


    • Effective 14 May 2022, the following regions are newly assigned a dark red colour code:
      • Spain: Basque Country
      • Finland: West Finland.
    • The full list of colour codes for the EU countries and regions is here.
    • Third countries on the white list:
      • Bahrain, Chile, China (dark red), Colombia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay.
    • All other third countries that are not on the white list are designated dark red or grey.
    • As of 20 May 2022, there are no countries on the very high-risk countries list.
    Table of Contents
      Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
      Scroll to Top
      Would you like to

      Subscribe to our newsletter

      and get notified about new articles?

      Related Posts

      Immigration updates
      Immigration updates – 19th of July
      Immigration updates
      Immigration updates – 12th of July
      Immigration updates
      Immigration updates – 5th of July
      Scroll to Top